Welcome One, Welcome All

Hello Everyone!

I am the Jess behind “Grubbing with Jess!” I had wanted to start blogging for a little while now and I kept putting it off, but I finally decided to take the plunge. My husband and I recently moved from Oklahoma to California, which made me realize how fast life goes by. I stopped making excuses and began furiously typing away. Okay, it started kind of slow, but we’ve finally made it into the blogging world!

There are so many things that I love – makeup, clothes, being a nurse, my sweet family. There are also many things I don’t like such as spiders, cockroaches (bugs in general, but ladybugs and butterflies are fine), driving (you gotta do what you gotta do), and water chestnuts. Don’t worry I don’t plan on using this space to tell you about my disdain for the creepy crawlies. I do plan on using it to share with you two of my great loves: food and fitness!

20160725_232101_1470679773036

Shaved ice-I seriously can’t believe how good this is

Even though I am no nutritionist, fitness expert, or registered dietitian I do have a true passion for food and fitness. I love learning and researching about it. I mean, come on, you know you love something when you read article after article and it doesn’t feel like homework! I want to share the things I learn with you and what I’ve learned works for my body. I think it’s amazing how with the right combination of food and fitness our bodies thrive. The hard part is figuring out what that combination is and making it into a lifestyle and not a fad. Trust me, a fad is fine when it’s your hair cut (it’ll grow back… at least that’s what my friends said), but with food and fitness you want something you can stick with to see consistent results. It’s all about being the healthiest you!

With that being said, I am a big food lover and so is my husband. We both enjoy food of all kinds. Okay, we don’t enjoy fried foods thaaat much (except French fries, yum). We make up for the lack of fried food with ALL OF THE SWEETS. We have a fierce sweet tooth (sweet teeth?). This could have been really bad if it hadn’t been for aforementioned passion for fitness we both have. I find it pointless to restrict myself – instead I find moderation helps. The hubby and I find this easy to do by sharing dishes. Plus it saves money and space for dessert later! I would love to use some blog posts to share the food we’re enjoying in California (maybe some ‘What I Eat in a Day’ type posts, let me know what you think).

IMG_20160711_091340

Nutritional density at it’s finest

I am excited to start blogging – I hope these posts provide you with some useful information, or at the very least some entertainment!

Welcome to “Grubbing with Jess!!”

2 thoughts on “Welcome One, Welcome All

  1. Mr. Mysterious says:

    I can’t wait to see what you and your hubby will be serving up! And I’m especially excited about the fact that you guys both have sweet teeth, there better be a ton of dessert posts. Great work, Jess!

    Like

Leave a Reply

