Working Out

Disclaimer: I am not a professional trainer!

2016-08-22 16.46.10

I love working out, but sadly, that has not always been the case. I used to have an on again off again relationship with exercise. My friends, the struggle was real! My commitment issues didn’t change until my last year or so of college. I want to say that the Pilates class I took on campus possibly definitely probably had something to do with it. I really enjoyed the class and then the light bulb above my head went on. I realized exercise doesn’t have to be the same boring thing over and over; it wasn’t just running or push-ups. As long as my body was up and moving it could be anything I wanted it to be!

Post Pilates class I worked out at home and used the resources I had on hand such as YouTube and Pinterest for inspiration and water bottles and the little flour sacks for resistance. I eventually invested in some dumbbells to add extra resistance to the movements I was already doing. I started to feel the change in my body from consistent workouts. Man, did it feel good! Nowadays I just use the apartment gym. I won’t lie it took me a minute to figure out the equipment and how everything works. I’m sure I got some strange looks while trying to learn how to adjust the machines to fit me (BIG shout out to hubs for teaching me the ways)! I am hooked on those beautiful things called endorphins and really enjoy my sessions at the gym.

That being said, there are days that I have to give my self a good kick in the rear to even step foot into the gym. I’m not talking about when your body needs a rest day (side note: rest days are of utmost importance for a happy body); I’m talking about days where I’m simply being a bum. On those days once I get my body moving I feel immensely better. The past few months I have been working out 5-6 days a week for 40-60 minutes because I have had some extra time on my hands. During my workweek I plan on doing 4 times a week for about 40-60 minutes. I’m sure this will change depending on my schedule and how my body feels. Currently, my body is happy with what I am doing so I’ll more than likely just keep on keepin’ on!

As for my workout philosophy- just MOVE!!! I don’t think there’s a type of exercise that’s right for every person. Our bodies are unique, we have different schedules and responsibilities, and distinct likes and dislikes, but for whatever reason we feel like we have to do a certain type of workout to get a certain result. The truth is you may get the results you’re looking for, but if you don’t enjoy it there’s a high chance you won’t stick with it (refer back to first paragraph). Don’t get a gym membership if you hate going to the gym instead take a walk outside, search YouTube for some workouts, use what you have at home to do a workout that you actually enjoy.

The big thing is to move and do as much of it as you can each day. Some days you may only fit in a 15 minute walk after dinner, but maybe you enjoy dancing and go dancing for an hour on Saturday because you had the day off. It’s all about balance and fitting in what you can when you can.

I don’t think exercise is a one size fits all garment. I don’t think that there is a “right” weight for your height (especially when throwing muscle mass into the mix). I think working out should be about certain numbers such as your blood pressure or blood sugar not the number on the scale. I think that in working out the most important goal is being the healthiest YOU that you can be and that things like weight loss are perks that come along with that.

If you couldn’t tell already, I’m a big believer in balance. Once I found balance with working out I found myself to be healthier AND happier. Let’s do our bodies a solid and get moving! Now, about that post-dinner walk…

Leave a Reply

