My Confession

This is something I have really fought with for a long time. I feel like I have failed as a food 20160829_105524blogger. Hello, I’m Jess and I hate oatmeal. I know it’s a shock, but hear me out. You see, I have wanted to like oatmeal for a LONG time. It looks delicious, I love warm bowl foods more than anything, I also have a weakness for toppings so you would think that oatmeal would totally be my jam, right?? Well my friends, it isn’t so. I’ve made oatmeal many a time feeling absolutely positive that THIS time I would love it only to find that once the toppings were gone so was I.

I was very distraught until I found something to fill that void. I’ve temporarily given on my dream of loving warm oatmeal to pursue my deep-rooted love for overnight oats. Warm oatmeal does nothing for me, but the cold version? I am all over that! It’s so strange because I tend to like warm meals and prefer mostly warm breakfasts and dinners, but when it comes to overnight oats all bets are off.

IMG_20160701_111953

For those of you that don’t know overnight oats are basically the same thing as warm oatmeal, but with no cooking involved. You just mix your ingredients, place in fridge, and add toppings the next morning when you are ready to eat.

I have a few reasons why I think I might have a soft spot for this cold delight: the 2016-08-29 16.00.33toppings…always the toppings (read: peanut butter), do I need to say more? I also love the ease of preparation. I can prep the oats the night before and when I get back from the gym I can throw on some toppings and eat. This is great because I am usually quite ravenous post-workout. Lastly, this breakfast keeps me pretty full till lunchtime. The combination of protein, carbs, and fats helps with satiation and complete food satisfaction!

I’m going to leave a guided recipe for overnight oats. I love this because it’s very customizable to your own taste and you can add what you like and have whatever is in season!

 

Overnight Oats

-Equal parts milk*, yogurt**, and oats (if making 1 cup oats use 1 cup milk and yogurt as well)

2016-08-29 15.45.31

-mix-ins: vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, chia seeds, protein powder*** or anything else you feel would be delicious

toppings: coconut flakes, any nut or seed butter, nuts, berries, fruit of any kind, flax seeds, dried fruit, chocolate chips, honey, and the million other amazing things you guys could come up with

2016-08-29 15.57.141)Mix milk, yogurt, oats, and any mix-ins together and place in fridge overnight.

2)Next morning take out and add in toppings to enjoy!

*milk-I use Fairlife skim because I love it and it gives me some extra protein

**yogurt- I use vanilla flavored Greek because of extra protein. I use plain Greek for everything in my life, but this because it makes the oats way to sour for me. I feel like honey flavored Greek would also be delicious!

***I don’t use protein powder, but my hubby is a BIG fan of the one I have pictured. If you do use protein powder it might be wise to add a little extra liquid as protein powder has the tendency to dry things out.

NOTE: I differentiate mix-ins from toppings in this recipe because I don’t add toppings till the morning since I want them to stay fresh, crunchy, etc.

If you need a suggestion what I like to do is mix in chia seeds to my overnight oats and then add peanut butter and blueberries in the morning. This has been my go to for a long time now and I still love it!

2016-08-24 11.44.37

I hope you enjoyed this post! I’m going to wrap up this post so I can go and eat my own overnight oats!!

Leave a Reply

