Workout Wednesdays: Cardio

Hey friends! Welcome to another Workout Wednesday. I realized that I had a post up about why I thought resistance training was important, but I never really talked about cardio.

20161120_161839

This post includes some reasons why I think cardio is important and why I include it in my workout sessions and no, it’s not just because of my donut consumption 😉

  1. Cardio is not necessarily my favorite thing, but I don’t mind it when it’s only for 20 minutes or so. I find that it’s a good way to get my muscles to warm up and it gets me excited to continue my workout. Usually by the time I am done with cardio I am ready to conquer those weights!
  1. Getting in some cardio (really any type of exercise) has been found to combat fatigue especially when done consistently. I mean, who couldn’t use some extra energy??
  1. Cardio is short for cardiovascular. Walking, running, biking, swimming, dancing can all help strengthen your heart. Your heart is like any other muscle in your body, if you don’t use it, you can lose it. Including some form of cardio can help decrease your chances of all types of heart disease.
  1. It’s great for those days where I don’t want to think about what I am doing. Recently I have been doing 40-50 minute cardio sessions my first day off from work. This is mostly because my brain and body feel too tired to comprehend much, but I still want to get in some sort of a workout. I’ve actually come to enjoy these days because I just throw on some YouTube and get my feet going…
  1. It’s a great way to get some endorphins going! I know I could always use some extra feel good hormones floating around and this just gets my day started on the right foot…get it? The right foot…cardio…just me?

The combination of cardio and strength training work very well for my body, but everyone’s body is different and reacts differently to things. Besides all that, everyone has different likes and dislikes. Obviously any type of movement or exercise is better than nothing at all, so you do you!

Let me know what you guys enjoy more? Cardio or strength training?

Leave a Reply

