Let’s talk resolutions

I hope everyone had a safe and happy New Year! I wanted to talk about New Year’s resolutions today. I won’t lie I actually never really make New Year’s resolutions. If I want to do something or make a change I just do it. I am also one of those crazy people that will dive in headfirst and feel like all of the change needs to happen in one day.

20161206_111000

That is something I have been working on because change happens over time, but it takes daily effort. Every day that you make the decision to get your body moving or have some greens is another day towards building a habit, which is another day towards your goal of having a healthier you.

Resolutions become harder when the excitement wears off and we’re not seeing fast results or the stress of life makes it hard to keep up with the decisions we have made. These are the times when it’s important to focus on those smaller goals. Instead of thinking I need to 5 servings of vegetables everyday, think I am going to have some asparagus with this meal.

20161008_215541

This brings me to my next point…you don’t have to change everything all at once. I’m speaking to myself here…Start with having some greens at one meal or taking one flight of stairs at work. Then build up from there. Our minds and bodies get stressed when we throw a whole bunch of changes at it at one time.

With all that being said being a healthier human should be a lifestyle change and not something we do for a few weeks or a couple of months. In order for it to be a part of your lifestyle it has to be manageable and enjoyable.

20161009_130702

So whatever changes you decide to make this year don’t see them as something you have to dread. Instead add your own little pizazz and make it fun!

What are some of your resolutions this year?

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk resolutions

  1. BeaFreitas says:

    Lovely post ! I too didn’t make any resolutions, thought they were pointless, however, last year I made my first 3 and I was so happy with myself that I stuck to them that even now in this year I’m bringing them in along with the 3 I’ve created for this year! My resolutions are to eat VERY healthy 5 days a week, work on my photography and travel more! Best of luck to you this year !!!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

