Skin Care

You guys know I believe in being a whole, healthy human and that includes skin care. I love watching the skin care videos on YouTube and feel super inspired by them, but after watching them I worry maybe I need to add more steps to my routine?!

So far it’s been working pretty well for my combination skin so maybe I am okay. Who knows! I guess only time will tell 🙂

Anyways, let’s jump into my skin care routine:

In the morning I start with a basic cleanser. I like this one by Mario Badescu. It doesn’t feel very harsh on my skin and the cleanser has the texture of gel so it’s soothing as well. At night I wash my face with the Simple Face Scrub. There’s no crazy smells or anything that could irritate my skin, which is great for me (and my skin).20170113_121143

After washing my face I pat dry and apply my face cream. I discovered these Alaffia cream after much research. It’s helped my skin quite a bit and helped with some random zits and scars I’ve had from said zits.

20160921_150625

At night after washing my face I apply my Maracuja oil from Tarte. This stuff sinks in and is super light so if you worry about having a heavy oil on your face, try this. You won’t even notice it’s there!

20160905_140855-1

Sometimes if I have a dark spot from a pimple or something I will spot treat with this Murad Rapid Lightening serum. It actually does work! On a fresh dark spot I notice big differences in a few days.

20170113_121428

Once a week I will do a much more thorough scrub with whatever I happen to be trying out at the time. Recently it’s been this Kate Somerville ExfoliKate, but I also love the smell and feel of the Pumpkin Scrub by Peter Thomas Roth!

20170113_121240

Besides that I don’t do much else! I will occasionally apply pimple cream if I happen to have some friends popping up on my face, but a majority of the time I keep it pretty simple.

I will say I have always thought about adding in an under eye cream in there somewhere, but I don’t know what’s good. I’ll take any recommendations!

For my body I moisturize after every shower, but I am terrible at doing it before bed. I like applying something heavier post shower/before bed. Recently it’s been this Body Shop body butter. As a nurse I wash my hands a LOT. I don’t think I really ever had dry hands before becoming a nurse, but now they just feel parched. So for before work or throughout the day at home I need a lighter moisturizer to sink in quickly, but also do it’s job well. This Aveeno one is freaking fab!

20170113_121354

That’s really about it! Is your skin care routine simple or do you have many steps? Let me know down below!!

Leave a Reply

