The art of snacking

When did snacking get such a bad rep?? I love snacking and I feel like if done right it can help you achieve your healthy lifestyle journey.

20160901_140000-1

With that being said I understand that snacking is not for every body. Depending on your lifestyle and preferences and seeing how your body functions you may learn that you do better with larger meals.

My body, on the other hand, does not do well with large meals. I tend to get full fast and lean towards smaller meals most days so I use snacks as a way to get in more of my nutrients and calories. I have 2-3 snacks on top of my 3 smaller meals depending on my activity level, hunger, etc.

I feel like issues arise with snacking when we don’t snack on the right things or our portions get out of hand. Having a snack cake or some chips every once in a while for a snack is fine…it’s not going to bring your progress crumbling down. It’s when we reach for the snack cake more often than not that snacking can become a barrier rather than a tool to help you succeed.

20160924_161721

So what is the “right” snack? I feel like a good quality snack should provide you with some micro/macronutrients to fuel your body and brain. For me, this usually means some combination of carbs, fat, and protein. Some days I tend to just go for a piece of fruit other days I need to add some nuts or peanut butter in for satiety.

A good portion size? Well, so when I was at the beginning of this journey I read a lot about snacking and the right snacks and the right portions. A lot of articles I read said anywhere from 100-150 calories is a good snack size. I don’t count calories so that means very little to me. I will have a handful of nuts and if I feel unsatisfied I will add a piece of fruit or some yogurt or just have more nuts!

As always, listen to your body! You only have one and it’s important to figure out when to fuel it and what to fuel it with.

This whole week I am bringing you posts on snacking. On Wednesday I share with you why I snack and Friday I bring you some of my favorite things to munch on! I hope you enjoyed this post and until next time…happy snacking!!

6 thoughts on “The art of snacking

Leave a Reply

