All of the Nutrients

I know many people talk about the importance of protein when you are trying to be healthy, but I think micronutrients are just as important!

20170208_133056

I know that it can be so easy to get focused on meeting macros that people can turn to more processed foods a majority of the time to help them meet their requirements. There is nothing wrong with a protein bar or shake, but if that’s where a majority of your calories are coming from then you may not be getting some important micronutrients.

Fruits and vegetables are pretty important because they contain antioxidants, vitamins, and minerals to help keep us healthy and strong. Who doesn’t want that?? These are the little powerhouses that give us good immunity so we don’t get sick all the time. They help us feel good from the inside out.

Protein, carbs, and fat give us energy and help build muscle. I think that’s pretty important too! You need to have energy to workout and you want to see a difference in your body from the workouts you do.

Eating whole foods and including a good balance of macro and micronutrients is important to helping our bodies feel the best. I know I don’t feel as good when I start my day off with just a bar and have no fruits or vegetables.

20170208_134509

I’m still working on including in more vegetables when I can and where I can. It doesn’t always happen and I am okay with that. I’m still working on this whole balance thing and besides, what would life be without a protein shake and some churros once in a while 😉

4 thoughts on “All of the Nutrients

Leave a Reply

